A Hunter's Angel, A Hunter's Blade, Blog Hop

A Haunted Garden Halloween Hop

Welcome to A Haunted Garden Halloween Hop!  Come Trick or Treating at the blogs of nearly 40 The Wild Rose Press authors as we share a Halloween/Fall themed post and discover some awesome new books from Oct 26 to Oct 31. But you will not go away without a Treat! Prizes, such as free books, gift cards many other goodies are being offered at all the blogs. To qualify just leave  your email addresses or follow the instructions of the individual bloggers.

The next five hops listed. To follow along just continue with the first one on the list.

http://micheledewinton.blogspot.co.nz/
http://veldabrotherton.wordpress.com
http://pamelafryer.blogspot.com
http://www.kmnbooks.com/karens-shenanigans/
http://lindahopelee.blogspot.com

Have Fun!

~*~*~*~*~

The Witch of Westgate…

I’m a huge fan of Halloween. I love to dress up as a witch and hand out candy from a large black cauldron on my front porch, which I decorate with all sorts of spooky things.

I live in a large housing development called Westgate and usually have anywhere from 150 to 200 Trick or Treaters from 6pm to 8pm on Halloween night. I love the faces of the little kids as they stare at my giant wolf spider hanging down from the corner over the sidewalk, not sure if the piece of candy I’m offering is worth coming up those steps.

Ghosts and a vampire bat sway in the breeze, scary music plays, while I sit on the darkened porch with the “cooking” cauldron of candy beside me. I achieve the fire by using orange “Christmas” lights and white quilt batting tangled around sticks.

They usually brave the spider, the ghosts and creepy sounds to get their Hershey bar. But as they turn to leave, the child-sized skeleton with rats still gnawing on his fingers and webs of spiders entwined over him sitting on small bench is a warning of what will happen if they decide to trick this witch.

I’ve never been tricked. Of course, I could always use a new skeleton….

Do you dress up to hand out candy during Trick or Treat?

~*~*~*~*~

Some Treats for You…. Absolutly No Tricks!

I’m offering my short story Bloodwine for free from  Oct 30 to Nov 3 on Amazon.  Click here for blurb and excerpt.

I’m also giving away other prizes to two lucky posters, so make sure you leave a comment with your email address to qualify for:

One poster will win a copy of A Hunter’s Angel

Another poster will win a piece of custom jewelry designed by me and my daughter.

 

~*~*~*~*~

A Hunter’s Angel, Book 1 of The Hunter’s Dagger Series

Blurb:

The serial killer stalking Clayton, Pennsylvania, isn’t all that has Chief of Police Grace Wallace worried. For a year, she’s tried to forget Special Agent Ian McHenry and now he’s the expert the FBI sent to catch the killer. She can’t stay away from him, but something primal is telling her to run to save much more than just her heart. Despite the strict code of ethics Ian vowed to follow as a vampire hunter, he craves Grace’s blood above all others. If he chooses to stay, Ian risks losing his chance at divine forgiveness. But if he leaves Grace unprotected from the evil he’s hunted for over a century, he loses more than just his soul…

Excerpt:

I’m not a man.”

“But you were once.”

“Yes, once.” His fingers lingered over her pulse. Her heart raced under his touch.

“Do you still want my blood?” Ian stepped away and locked his wide-eyed gaze onto hers.

“No, I don’t want your blood. Oh, God, I still crave it. You have the sweetest I’ve ever had, but I will never hurt you again.”

She didn’t know what possessed her to do so, but she whispered, “You can take…some of it.”

He closed his eyes, and when he opened them, he acidly said, “No, Grace. I can never taste your blood again. It would kill you.”

She stepped away, and for a moment, she considered telling him to leave. How did she know any of this was real? Did she really believe him? He was sucking her into his insanity.

“Maybe I should go?” Ian backed away another step.  “Goodbye, my sweet angel.”

His jagged murmur ripped at her soul as his eyes took on a blazing intensity and snared hers. She felt a pressure in her mind, and she knew what he intended to do. He wanted to erase her memories of him.

 No!

Available Everywhere E-books are sold:

The Wild Rose Press | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

~*~*~*~

A Hunter’s Blade, Book 2 of The Hunter’s Dagger Series

Blurb:

Brigit Wolfe, a born werewolf, hasn’t killed a human in over a hundred years, although now, she wonders if the animal attacking people in Silver Creek, Colorado, isn’t her. But she might have bigger problems when her cowboy neighbor, Austin Calhoun, ambles into her bar. Austin hasn’t been a vampire for long, but he is determined to prove to himself that he’s worthy of his hunter’s dagger. Brigit’s rare beauty and blade-sharp tongue enchants him. She ignites a passion he thought was dead, but is she the killer his master sent him to destroy? During Austin’s investigation regarding Brigit’s involvement in the deaths, an old crime surfaces connected to her human best friend. These two immortal enemies have to join forces to solve the mystery before someone else dies. But can they survive the heat of their own desire?

Excerpt:

When the energy of her power touched him again, he pulled the knife, and the silver blade caught the dim light of the fire in the hearth when he opened the long switchblade. “I want to know if you’re the one preying on these people.”

Her eyes widened and she backed up a step as he approached. “I told you I didn’t attack those humans. I haven’t killed a mortal in over a hundred years. How many innocents have you snacked on tonight? How many of them did you want to kill?”

“I don’t hurt my prey,” he said through clenched teeth and held her icy gaze. He’d never let her know battling the beast within every feeding was the hardest thing he’d ever done.

After forcing himself to take a deep breath, he lowered the knife and released some of the tension zinging through his body. “If you didn’t kill those people then you have nothing to worry about. Best way to figure out who did is by working together.” He put the silver blade away, and his fangs retracted.

“What do you have planned?” He didn’t miss the slight quiver in her voice. He should finish all this right here and now so he could get back to Ireland and whatever life he’d scraped together, but something needled him into doing a thorough investigation.

“We begin with you telling me everything you remember from those nights you became the big, bad wolf.”

Available now at Amazon and everywhere January 2, 2013.

Happy Halloween!!!

Standard

24 thoughts on “A Haunted Garden Halloween Hop

  1. Jaxs says:

    Trick or Treat! Well I’ll take a trick and then treat myself to one of your books! I just love werewolves & vamps and cannot wait until “A Hunter’s Blade’ is released! Sounds like a great tale in the making. I always dress up for my little vamps & other critters that show up at my door! This year I’m going to be a Zombie….with my dark circles under the eyes already in place, I’ll only need a touch of red to scare them teens who try for my door. Hahaha!! Tricking me is not easy to do……

  2. I have to say that you all in the US do Halloween so fabulously, we’re far behind over here (although catching up). I always remember watching ET and thinking wow, Halloween in America looks amazing. Very impressed with even the mums dressing up! Some mums do over here, although not many, and only those with US/Canadian roots :). So I don’t dress up, in fact I don’t think I’m going out with the girls this year!! Great post Cera.

  3. Sharon Cullen says:

    I don’t dress up and I don’t hand out candy. We live on a cul-de-sac and we don’t get many trick or treaters so for years my neighbors move up to the top of the street, drag out grills and tables and buckets of juice and we grill hot dogs for the trick or treaters. We LOVE it! Its the only time of the year all of us get together and we have a great time. The neighborhood loves it too. Parents don’t have time to come home from work, feed their kids and get them all dressed up. We take care of that by feeding them as they’re trick or treating. Our street is always filled with tons of other neighbors who stop by. People who have moved off the street still come by too!

  4. Sharon, you’re T-or-T event sounds like so much fun!

    Sara, I don’t dress up…even as a kid it wasn’t my favorite thing. I know, that makes me weird doesn’t it? I like seeing all the costumes, though.

  5. Trick or Treat, Cera! I’ve been known to dress up to hand out candy in the past, but now we live six miles from town and not one door knocker out here. 🙂 I’ll tell ya though- the candy is NOT worth me challenging ANY spider of any size to get. I love the winged key necklace, btw. 😉

  6. JeanMP says:

    Won’t be dressing up this year, , but have in the past. I must admit glad we don’t get that many trick or treaters, we live in a quiet subdivision. Your books sound really good, adding them to my list.
    skpetal at hotmail dot com

  7. I love it, Cera. There was a professional makeup artist in our neighborhood when I was a child who went all out for Halloween. Though scared out of our wits, my sibs and I looked forward to the fright he’d hand us every year. My favorite year was when a headless horseman met us at the end of his walkway. 😉

  8. I LOVE Halloween! And I do theatre, so dressing up for this holiday has always been my favorite thing. The past few years I haven’t been able to do it because of work, but this year I may very well don my witch costume again. LOL My daughter’s inherited the bug–she’s gone all out this year to dress like Johnny Depp’s Mad Hatter from Alice in Wonderland.

    Love your books and your jewelry, Cera! I’m in!
    1jennajaxon@gmail.com

  9. Mer says:

    I’m dressing up to hand out candy–why let the kids have all the fun? Then I might curl up with a good creepy book. Happy halloween!

  10. Denise Z says:

    Happy Haunted Halloween – what fun this hop is. Because of the week Halloween falls I will likely be working and hopefully handing out treats to the little goblins and ghouls who come to the door 🙂
    dz59001[at]gmail[dot]com

  11. Elie says:

    I love reading about things that go bump in the night (with a touch of romance) this time of year. thanks for the fun!

    zenfoxflowerATyahooDOTcom

Leave a Reply

