A Hunter's Angel, Blog Hop

Romancing the Hop Blog Hop

Welcome to Romancing the Hop blog hop…

And while we do that, we are EACH doing a giveaway. Yep. There will be over 100 giveaways on each blog hosted by that Author or Blogger.

But that’s not all….

We have THREE grand prizes. You as a reader can go to EACH blog and comment with your email address and be entered to win. Yep, you can enter over 100 times!

TO QUALIFY FOR THE PRIZES YOU MUST LEAVE YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS IN YOUR COMMENT

Now what are those prizes?

1st Grand Prize: A Kindle Fire or Nook Tablet

2nd Grand Prize: A $130 Amazon or B&N Gift Card

3rd Grand Prize: The following Swag Pack!

My contest for commenting:

One Lucky Poster will win either a custom-made pair of angel wing earrings, charm bracelet, or necklace.

Two others will get a PDF copy of Bloodwine.

.

.

.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

What about romance hooks me? Why do I write romance?

This is both easy and hard to answer. The easy part is I’m a sucker for the happily ever after. I want the two people I’ve come to love—the hero whom I’ve fallen in love with right along with the heroine and the heroine whom I love like a sister—to be happy.

The hard part of this is more complicated. There was a time when I didn’t read romance, or not much of it anyway. I had always wanted to be a writer, and my very first book was a romance (I wrote it in high school) and most of the fan fiction I wrote before I decided to take the plunge and write A Hunter’s Angel was romance. But I denied being a romance writer. I’ve since embraced what I am and I what I write, and what I now predominantly read.

I love romance. It’s a part of me. It’s my love of fairy tales. It’s my love for the perfect world where two people are soul mates, and no matter what obstacles they have to overcome, they will always find their way to each other.

In my debut paranormal, A Hunter’s Angel, Ian and Grace had been lovers in the past, but when Ian’s vampire nature threatens her life, he leaves her to protect her from himself. But fate has a way of intervening and now he has to protect her from a more sinister threat.

Gambling On A Secret, my debut contemporary Western, due out in January from Lyrical Press and published under my real name, Charli and Dylan are two lost souls who become whole and better people together. As Charli puts it: They are two ugly worms, caterpillars, who want to turn the ugly in their lives into something beautiful—they want to be butterflies.

What’s the one thing you love about the romance genre?

A Hunter’s Angel

The Wild Rose Press | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

The serial killer stalking Clayton, Pennsylvania, isn’t all that has Chief of Police Grace Wallace worried. For a year, she’s tried to forget Special Agent Ian McHenry and now he’s the expert the FBI sent to catch the killer. She can’t stay away from him, but something primal is telling her to run to save much more than just her heart. Despite the strict code of ethics Ian vowed to follow as a vampire hunter, he craves Grace’s blood above all others. If he chooses to stay, Ian risks losing his chance at divine forgiveness. But if he leaves Grace unprotected from the evil he’s hunted for over a century, he loses more than just his soul…

Excerpt: 

“I’m in love with the man inside the vampire.” Grace moved her hand to thread through his silky hair. When she rested the other over his heart, a soft sigh escaped his lips. Underneath her palm, the slow beat was barely noticeable.

His thumb grazed her cheekbone and slowly trailed down to the hollow of her throat. Her breathing quickened at the zinging anticipation as he caressed the pulse point where he’d claimed to have taken blood from her. He glanced at the spot with eyes as haunted as he sounded. “I’m not a man.”

“But you were once.”

He met her gaze again. “Yes, once.”

His fingers lingered over her pulse. Her heart raced under his touch. She tilted her neck as if his touch awakened some base instinct to offer the sacrifice. “Do you still want my blood?”

Ian stepped away and locked his wide-eyed gaze onto hers. At last, he rasped, “No, I don’t want your blood. Oh, God, I still crave it. You have the sweetest I’ve ever had, but I will never hurt you again.”

She didn’t know what possessed her to do so, but she whispered, “You can take…some of it.”

He closed his eyes, and when he opened them, he acidly said, “No, Grace. I can never taste your blood again. It would kill you.”

Fear of what she’d wanted him to do tumbled through her. She stepped away, and for a moment, she considered telling him to leave. How did she know any of this was real? She couldn’t imagine she’d ever freely offer a vampire her blood. Did she really believe him? He was sucking her into his insanity. But if this was true and he could make people do things against their will, maybe he could control her feelings.

“Maybe I should go?” Ian backed away another step and headed toward the counter where he’d left his dagger. He turned back to her with the sheath in his hand. Her heart shattered with the knowledge that, if he walked out the front door, she’d never see him again. “Goodbye, my sweet angel.”

His jagged murmur ripped at her soul as his eyes took on a blazing intensity and snared hers. She felt a pressure in her mind, and she knew what he intended to do. He wanted to erase her memories of him.

No!

  

Gambling On A Secret

by Sara Walter Ellwood

Coming January 7, 2013 from Lyrical Press

When Charli bets everything on a secret, will she find the deck stacked against her?

Former runaway-turned heiress Charli Monroe is hiding her sordid past and planning a future in Colton, Texas. Attending the local college for a degree in social work, she intends to raise cattle on her newly purchased ranch, which she plans to open as a home for troubled teens. Only a few glitches—the Victorian mansion is crumbling, the barn needs a roof, and her oilman neighbor wants more than friendship. When she meets Dylan Quinn, Charli is willing to take a chance on the town drunk to help her rebuild the rundown ranch.

Dylan has his demons, too. The former Special Forces commander can’t get past his ex-wife’s betrayal and the botched mission that left him with much more than a bad limp. Certain the greedy oilman next door to Charli wants much more than just her heart, Dylan’s even willing to stop drinking in order to protect her.

When things get dangerous and secrets of the past are revealed, is he only looking out for his new employer, or is she the new start he so desperately needs?

CONTENT WARNING: Details abuse of a minor, drug abuse, alcoholism, swearing, spicy sex, murder.

Except:

Dylan moved over to her, grabbed her shoulders and spun her around before he realized what he was doing. Charli stood close enough for him to smell the sweet scent of peaches and see the flecks of blue in her wide green eyes. “I warned you more than once about Ferguson. I won’t let you give him this ranch. I’ll buy it from you first.”

She laughed. “You’ve got to be kidding. You’ll buy the ranch? Hell.”

She bent into the open refrigerator. It wasn’t a secret he was broke, but her easy dismissal pinched his heart in an unfamiliar and uncomfortable way.

Over her shoulder, Charli burned him with the fire of her cat-like eyes. “I don’t really give a flyin’ fu–I don’t care what your deal is with Leon. He’s done nothing to me. He’s a gentleman and only wants to be my friend.” She turned back toward him with a carton of eggs in one hand and a jug of milk in the other. “So, if you can’t accept that, I think you know what you can do. Goes for my rule about your drinking, too. Take it or leave it. The door’s open.”

To Hop to the next Blog…….

26.
49.
50.
83.
130.
159.
168.
169.
204.
Standard

90 thoughts on “Romancing the Hop Blog Hop

  1. Lona Stringer says:

    The happy ever after is much better than someone dying I hate when that happens. Thx for giveaway.

    blinkysthebest at aol dot com

  2. Great post, I especially like the description of your contemporary western: Charli and Dylan are two lost souls who become whole and better people together. This statement alone makes me want to read Gambling on a Secret!

  3. Diane Sallans says:

    Gotta have the HEA – I’ve stopped reading an author when they didn’t have one.
    sallans d at yahoo dot com

  4. It’s the road to the HEA that I like to read about. The emotions and fears and love that each character feels is what makes romance books so great.
    Thanks for joining the hop.
    koonie2888 at yahoo dot com

  5. J.F.A says:

    Hi! thanks for hosting the giveaway! i love the love in the books and the happy ever after
    californiazgold(at)gmail(dot)com

  6. Elizabeth H. says:

    Love to read romance books because I like to know that at least someone is getting an HEA, even if the characters are only fiction! Thanks for joining the hop and the awesome giveaway!
    ehaney578 at aol dot com

  7. For me, romance is all about the trust and respect built between the characters. Since I write BDSM, these elements are very important.
    Thank you for participating in the blog hop!
    qwilliarain(at)gmail(dot)com

  8. I love happy ending too Thank you for the great giveaway! What a great blog hop This book sounds really good thanks for the chance!
    Email subscriber too
    LatishaD
    tishajean@ charter.net

  9. Shadow says:

    Thanks for the awesome hop and giveaways! This is so much fun! Thank you! My favorite thing about romance is the romance. lol I love the characters, the plots, the HEA’s, the love. I love it all!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  10. Patti C says:

    Thanks for participating! Really like the hop so far!! I love reading, especially romance. I love the happy ending that is garenteed at the end. My favorite book is Lover Mine by JR Ward! I love John Matthew and Xhex. My favorite romantic moment was when my fiancé asked me to marry him! We meant two years ago right around when summer was ending! My friend and I went out for our last big night out before classes started again. Thanks so much! Hope everyone else is having a great long weekend!!

    prettyunicorn78@yahoo.com

  11. Rae M. says:

    Yeah, I ‘ve got to say I love the fact that when I’m reading, that no matter what the characters go through, that they will eventually get their HEA!

    Thanks!
    rae.gwendy(at)gmail(dot)com

  12. AnnaM. says:

    Thanks for participating. It’s usually the characters that hook me to a story and I do like HFN/HEA. That jewelry was really pretty. Did you make it? My mom does a bit of that as a hobby and it sounds fun.

    AnnaM.
    doxisrcool at aol dot com

  13. Patti C says:

    Thanks for participating! Really like the hop so far!! I love reading, especially romance. I love reading contemporary, historical and erotic romance. I love the happy ending that is garenteed at the end. My favorite book is Lover Mine by JR Ward! I love John Matthew and Xhex. My favorite romantic moment was when my fiancé asked me to marry him! We meant two years ago right around when summer was ending when my friend and I went out for our last big night out before classes started again. I think it is romantic when he brings me flowers because no one else has ever done it! Thanks so much! Hope everyone else is having a great long weekend!!

    prettyunicorn78@yahoo.com

  14. Jessica B says:

    It’s hard to just choose one thing that I love about the romance genre. I love the feelings, happy endings and how they are ‘lighter’ reads (don’t have to think too much). Thanks for being a part of the hop. I hope that you have a great Labor day weekend!
    jessangil at gmail dot com

  15. I love romance because no matter what happens to the hero and heroine, you always know they’ll fall in love and have their HEA. In a world where things can be so chaotic sometimes, that’s so comforting!

    lindsayavalon (at) gmail (dot) com

  16. Wendy says:

    The one thing I love about romance novels is when I get the tingles in my belly. It comes from the shared emotion between the hero and heroine. I especially love to read a story that gives the mans perspective on his feelings and what he does to “hide” from them and then how he has to prove himself to his love. Plus, I love a steamy sex scene too. 😉

    wbreerex(at)yahoo(dot)com

  17. donnablhmistress says:

    I am a huge sucker for Happy endings. I love when I end a book and leaves me with a smile on my face.

    vampiremistress2010(at)gmail(dot)com

  18. Sherry S. says:

    I read romance books for the HEA and if I read a book and it doesn’t have a HEA or at least a HFN ending I won’t read that author again.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

Leave a Reply

