Visit with My Friends

G.M. Trust

iF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR THE HERO’S BLOG HOP SCROLL DOWN

.

Today on the blog, I welcome G.M. Trust as she talks about her journey and her book Love on the Edge of Tomorrow.  So, tell us a little about yourself.  When did you start writing, how long and what do you write?

I used to make up stories featuring my favorite TV heroes and heroines (fan fiction) and tell them to my classmates over lunch, but I didn’t start writing until I was 39. I hadn’t a clue what I was doing until I joined my local chapter of Romance Writers of America in 2001.  I’ve written poetry and songs, and several different kinds of novels: an unpublished mythological allegory and sociological commentary set in the early ‘70s that illuminates a mystical theme alluded to in the psychedelic rock of the era. Although the more you know about symbolism, the more you’ll find to appreciate, it reads like a hybrid of “Dallas” and “The Dukes of Hazzard.” My novel LOVE ON THE EDGE OF TOMORROW is classified as an upper-end young-adult time-travel romance. I’ve several unfinished manuscripts, and am currently working on a gothic romance set in 1880s Maryland with a nod to Edgar Allen Poe. 

As most people who know me know, I started out as a fanfiction writer myself… My fandom of choice was Star Wars, though…

What can you tell us about LOVE ON THE EDGE OF TOMORROW that isn’t in the blurb or excerpt?  Was it an easy write?  How long did it take you to write it?

  1. Gosh, I hate to give away surprises–like the secret of why Cambria is a matriarchy–but it’s not just some ordinary teen romance. The heroine must figure out which prince truly loves her, and which one only wants her for a throne.  She faces a real moral dilemma and invents a clever way to save the rebel leader from being executed. And, when it looks like the heroine and hero will surely die, the hero comes up with an ingenious escape at the end.
  2. It wasn’t easy, especially when it came to figuring out the great save at the end.
  3. It took about two years worth of 40 hour weeks to write. I’m dyslexic and a terrible typist.

I can emphasize with the dyslexia bit… Though, I don’t have a problem with typing, I’m a terribly slow reader….

Are you a pantser or plotter? What can you tell us a little about your writing process?

I’m a panster. I’ll get the original idea–maybe just see a character in a scene in my head–and then start writing.  However, the story will often morph into something a bit different than what I first envisioned.

Me too…

If you could be any fictional character—including your own, who would you choose and why?

Nancy Drew. I love solving mysteries. 

LOL!

What is your favorite TV show or movie?

My favorite romantic movie was a TV movie production of “IVANHOE “with Sam Neil and Olivia Hussey. Hollywood movie: Gladiator with Russell Crowe.

I like Gladiator, but I never saw the other one…

Okay, since I write both vamps and cowboys, I want to know, which is sexier:  Vampires or Cowboys?

Cowboys: there’s just something about a guy on a horse.

Well, I can’t argue with that…LOL!

Love on The Edge of Tomorrow

A coed discovers she’s the missing crown princess of a planet in the far-flung future, mired in the past.

Up to now, Alexandra Marshall’s biggest worry was winning Grand Champion at the next horse show, but on Cambria she faces a brew of intrigue, seduction, and political rebellion. Two handsome princes vie for her hand; but when she’s abducted by the rebels, she learns of the sinister conspiracy that ended democracy and oppressed the people.

When the prince she loves finds out she’s aiding the rebels, will he stand with her or against her?

Excerpt:

Prologue: Cambria 3130 C.E.

Obscured by the dappled shade of the forest, the archer tensed at the sound of hoof beats and rattle of wheels. The sweet laughter of children and the bell-like voices of women echoed above the jingle of harness as the queen’s open carriage came into view on the woodland trail.

Sweat prickled the archer’s forehead. She lifted the crossbow, took aim and fired. Death hummed through the air. The near horse squealed in pain and lunged into the off horse, then they bolted along the steep trail. The coachman sawed at the reins in a desperate struggle to slow the panicked team before the sharp bend looming ahead. Behind him, the pregnant queen held her toddler to her breast. The queen’s sister-in-law grabbed her own toddler and threw the crying boy from the carriage just before it jack-knifed, pulling the squealing horses and screaming occupants over the ridge.

*    *    *

Alex had never been out riding this late before. It was much darker under the tree canopy than she expected. Without light to define things, the woods began to seem creepy. Alien even. She told herself to cool it.

A hideous screech ricocheted through the trees. Alex recoiled, stomach lurching. Orion jigged sideways. Only an owl, Alex thought, it has to be. A low, eerie moan began to pulsate through the darkness. The gloom grew denser, almost palpable.

Alex’s throat constricted. Her breath clogged in her chest. She strained for air, but couldn’t get enough oxygen into her lungs. Digging her fingers into Orion’s mane, she kicked him into a mad gallop. Abruptly, Orion broke through the turgid darkness into a valley vaulted with stars. Gasping for breath, Alex slowed him to a walk and sucked in long deep draughts of cool evening air. She was so grateful to be out in the open that, at first, the nature of her surroundings didn’t fully register. Confused, she reined to a halt and stared.

She didn’t recognize anything.

They traveled on for some distance without any sigh of habitation. Then, faintly, Alex heard the mellow notes of a flute drifting on the wind. Orion rounded a hillock. Just ahead, a guy sat in the grass playing a pipe. The soft notes of pipe ceased and the young man stood. His finely sculpted features were so handsome Alex’s heart did a little flip.

He was dressed in a dark-green, gold-embroidered tunic. His broad-shouldered torso tapered into a trim waist encircled by a wide leather belt. Moccasins that laced to his knees accentuated his long muscular legs.

“Good evening,” he said, in a rich tenor, and slid the flute through his belt.

Amazon  |  Kindle  |  Barnes and Noble  |   Smashwords

GM Trust’s Web site: http://gmtrustbooks.wordpress.com/

Bio:

I am an avid reader and lover of books. My fondest memories from childhood often include books and my favorite horses. Oftentimes, you will see my love of each entwined into my stories.

My favorite authors include Mary Stewart, Sharon Kay Penman, and Dean Koontz. Throughout my life, I have dabbled in writing; however, over the last ten years, I have dedicated myself wholeheartedly to my passion of penning books and novels.

I am a former professional racehorse groom and a stay-at-home mom. I am blessed with five wonderful children and have been married to my extremely patient husband for 33 years. I am a member of Romance Writers of America, Central Pennsylvania Romance Writers and Pennwriters, Inc.

I hope that you will join me on my journey and check back from time to time to read the latest information on my upcoming book releases.

 

Standard

21 thoughts on “G.M. Trust

  1. Cera, thank you for having me here today. I know it dates me, but Nancy Drew was a very liberated woman for her time. I could have said Wonder Woman, I suppose, but I thought that might be overly ambitious. Gerry

    • Hi Natalie,
      I wasd born in the city where Edgar Allen Poe courted his wife and later died. So, of course I’ve read all of Poe’s works. So it seemed perfect to tap into some of Poe’s themes about fate and twisted hearts for a gothic romance st in Maryland. As you can see, my stories are all over the map.

    • I’m so glad you liked the premise, Sharon. I originally concieved it for Tor/Forge but that didn’t work out for me. They wanted something that had a romance in it but was also an adventure with political intrigue. I figured if mankind traveled across the universe to the “Goldilock’s planet” they wouldn’t be able to take much with them. So rather than an advanced civilization it might seem more like something from our past.

  2. Nancy Drew is a hands-down classic. There can be no quibbling over that. 🙂 Loved your excerpt and, as a historical reader, I hope you finish the1880s gothic romance soon. Especially with the nod to Poe for inspiration, it sounds like a compelling setting and time period.

    • Delynn, Thanks for the thumps-up on Nancy Drew. My friends are bugging me to finish the historical, too. Numerous things have slowed me down–something all writers must deal with, but I’m glad to add you to the list of those urging me to finish.

    • Cera,

      It’s been a lot of fun conversing with your blogging friends. Sorry about the typos, ladies. I tried my best to catch them before I hit send, but a couple of times I was interrupted and had to deal with something on the home front. In a nod to Dr. Spock: Live long and prosper!

      G. M. Trust

  3. Pingback: Blog Feature « gmtrustbooks

Leave a Reply

