Visit with My Friends

Sarah M. Anderson

Welcome Harlequin Desire author Sarah M. Anderson to the blog as she talks about writing and her upcoming release, A Man of Privilege. 

First, I must say that I LOVED Sarah’s debut HQ Desire, A Man of His Word, and can’t wait to read this book! 

Tell us a little about yourself.  When did you start writing, how long and what do you write?

I started writing when my son was 2 1/2 and had started sleeping through the night. I took him and my then 92-year-old grandmother on a weekend road trip. On the drive home, my son fell asleep and my grandma ‘rested her eyes.’ I think you can understand how important it was to me to have everyone rested. So I didn’t even turn on the radio. But I had to do something to keep from falling asleep myself. I found myself imaging a scene where two people were arguing in the rain about how they didn’t love each other, but they really did. It fascinated me—who were they? Why were they arguing? They kept talking to me for a week, driving me to the point of distraction. Finally, I decided to write down what they were saying, just to get them out of my head. That turned into my first book, which clocked in at over 500 pages. It was terrible—I have a backstory problem—but it taught me a lot about writing a novel. And rather than get out of my head, those people opened up a whole bunch of other stories that also demanded to be written. My son is seven now, so I’ve been writing for five years. I write modern-day cowboys and Indians, where the cowboys often are the Indians. I like to mix it up!

I love this!  I think my first novel way back when I was only in high school started out the same way…LOL

What can you tell us about A Man of Privilege that isn’t in the blurb or excerpt?  Was it an easy write?  How long did it take you to write it?

The thing you won’t find in the blurb is that it took me seven weeks to write Privilege. But before you start cursing me, let me say that it took eight weeks to rewrite it. Basically, we kept the first four chapters. Everything else underwent some significant-to-major changes. My first novel, A Man of His Word, was something of a lucky fluke. A Man of Privilege is where I really learned how to write a Harlequin Desire. Luckily, my agent and editor stuck with me, pushed me through the rough parts, and we all came out on the other side. Whew!

I understand this!! I’m going through a similar thing with my first Lyrical book…

Are you a pantser or plotter? What can you tell us a little about your writing process?

I’m a mister. I plot way more than a traditional pantser, but far, far less than a true plotter. I usually know where I’m going and how I’m going to get there…for a little while. Some times, I truly have no idea. Other times, everything’s pretty clear. It’s a lot like driving through a fog, a mist. Some times, you can see the road. Other times, it’s almost impossible to know where you’re going.

LOL! I’m something of a hybrid too…

If you could be any fictional character—including your own, who would you choose and why?

I don’t think I’ve ever wanted to be a fictional character, but I’ve imagined myself in other lives, other places. Always have. I think that’s one of the things that really helps me write—it’s not difficult to imagine other people living other lives.

Good point…

What is your favorite TV show or movie?

Oh, this a sad, sad answer, but my favorite shows right now are Phineas and Ferb and Star Wars: The Clone Wars. I watch those shows a lot with my son, I enjoy them, and I’m thankful that I’m watching them instead of some weird show where everyone turns into monsters to battle for a never-ending quest designed to make my boy buy 300 different toy monster cards. (Cough, cough, looking at you, Pokemon.)

LOL…

Okay, since I write both vamps and cowboys, I want to know, which is sexier:  Vampires or Cowboys?

Hands down, Cowboys. First off, in no reality do cowboys ever sparkle. Second off, they’re good with their hands, and third off, they’re just all-around awesome. Was it even a contest?

Real vampires don’t sparkle either…LOL!

A Man of Privilege

She isn’t what he expected.

Blue-blood lawyer James Carlson is working on the case of his life.  After winning this trial, his career will be set.  He won’t let anything…or anyone… alter his course.  Then he meets his witness.

Maggie Eagle Heart makes him question everything–his family, his goals, his future. Because she’s the one woman he wants, and she’s the one woman who is completely off limits. Yet even as he struggles to keep their relationship all about business, he can’t deny the attraction is mutual–and irresistible.

James has always done what is expected of him…until now.

A Man of Privilege is available for pre-order! Visit your favorite bookseller, at Amazon or for the Nook  .

Bio:

Award-winning author Sarah M. Anderson may live east of the Mississippi River, but her heart lies out west on the Great Plains. With a lifelong love of horses and two history teachers for parents, it wasn’t long before her characters found themselves out in South Dakota among the Lakota Sioux.  She loves to put people from two different worlds into new situations and to see how their backgrounds and cultures take them someplace they never thought they’d go.

When not helping out at school or walking her rescue dogs, Sarah spends her days having conversations with imaginary cowboys and American Indians, all of which is surprisingly well-tolerated by her wonderful husband and son.

Blog Boilerplate

This post is brought to you as part of the A Man of Privilege Blog Tour.  For a complete tour schedule and rules, visit http://www.sarahmanderson.com. Comments on this blog will be entered to win a signed copy of A Man of Privilege.

Next tour stop is Harlequin Desire Authors Blog on June 25th.

Standard

12 thoughts on “Sarah M. Anderson

  1. Great interview ladies! Your book and history sounds wonderful, the great plains awesome…will have to visit someday, very inspirational. Good luck with the book release

  2. Terrific interview! Loved hearing about your journey into writing. The driving with your grandmother and son and playing out a scene in your mind to keep you awake…loved it! I often do a lot of my plotting and scenes while I’m driving too.

    Loved the blurb for your new book…sounds like it’ll be a read with lots of twists & turns!

    • Thanks, Christine! Driving is a great way to plot–but only as long as I’m not listening to a Harry Potter book with my son–now that he’s older, we do that most of the time. No plotting occurs when someone else’s story is going on!

  3. D'Ann Lindun says:

    Hi!
    Nice interview. I wouldn’t cuss you on the 7 weeks. I once wrote a ms in a month. And, hell yeah to the cowboys!

Leave a Reply

