Writing Wednesdays

Getting Back into the Groove

It seems since forever since I wrote anything for Writing Wednesday… FOREVER. This spring has been brutal. I found myself being extra busy with work, busy with stuff around the house, and not writing much. Not reading much either…

The good news, I signed three contracts since mid-April. Book two of my Hunter’s Dagger Series, A Hunter’s Blade, will be hopefully released this fall/winter by The Wild Rose Press. Book one of The Colton Gamblers, Gambling On a Secret (formally “Butterfly”) has a tentative release of January 2013, and in May 2013, Heartstrings (formally “The Long Road Home”) will also be released by Lyrical Press and will be published under my real name Sara Walter Ellwood. Of course, I’m now neck deep in edits.

However, I’m faced with trying to find my mojo again. I seem to be faltering big time. I started A Hunter’s Wing, book three of my Hunter’s Dagger Series, but it isn’t going easy. I’m also working on edits/revisions for book two of the Gamblers, but it, too, is going slow. Really, I feel lost.

When I sit and stare at my blinking curser wondering what the hell I’m going to write, I fear if I’ll ever produce another book. I’ve had writer’s block before, but this is different.

But what the heck, I’ve sold four books in seven months. I’m fairly confident my editor will buy the second book of my Western series. I like what I’m putting on “paper” so far of Wings. I liked the short story series I wrote to promote A Hunter’s Angel next month. I’m happy about my short story I self-published. So, I don’t understand why I feel so lost. So afraid that this is it.

Has anyone else ever felt like this? And if you have how the hell did you break through the barrier holding you back?

Standard

14 thoughts on “Getting Back into the Groove

  1. I think it’s all the changes you go through as a newly contracted/published author. I’ve felt like that a little bit over the past few months. Just keep working, that’s my advice…that lost feeling will morph unexpectedly and you’ll be at the New Normal. Without that feeling. Hugs, Sara!

  2. Wow Cera, impressive list of work there! I have felt like this before and found some of the lethargy towards writing shifted with a clean diet, but that could be me and my funny body methinks! Good luck you’ve done a fantastic job so far.

  3. I’m going through this exact same thing. I have to have book 2 to my editor by mid-August and I’m panicked that it won’t be long enough. Now I’m stressing over scene 2 of the book and am wondering if I’m not just a fraud. That I really can’t do this writing thing. It stinks, big time.

    The good thing is I was reading Jill Shalvis’s facebook page and she said almost the same thing. I think this is something most writers go through. At least I hope so…

  4. D'Ann Lindun says:

    Sara~
    I could have written this post myself. I don’t know what it is. Fear? Exhaustion? You and I have all been sick. Maybe that’s part of it. All I know is my mojo is gone, and I can’t seem to find it. Hang in there, my friend.

  5. I think it is a combination of fear, worry, mental exhaustion, and also a bit of what I like to call I-simply-need-a-rest. What I.S.N.A.R is is sheer mental exhaustion.
    Think back Sara to all the years and hard work you spent on the craft–non-stop work–learning the craft, plotting, revising, editing, worrying etc, etc, on and on and on it went. So now you have books scheduled for release–books published. That is one of the main goals you were striving for. Now you’ve made it and you need a moment to sit and relax and pat yourself on the back. But as writers we know we don’t have the luxury of time, but your mind is simply just too tired to get back into that writer part of your brain right now.

  6. Yup. Been there done that… twice. I think it’s normal, or as normal as us writers can be, LOL. Both times, I just kept writing. I had to for deadlines. I don’t remeber waking up one day and saying, Oh, it’s gone, it just gradually faded. Hugs to you & congrats on the sales. Know that it will pass, even if it sucks.

  7. First, let me say congratulations on selling 4 books in 7 months. That’s quite an achievement.

    I agree with Brenda’s comment above. Take some time to celebrate or to just be. I know you’re deep in edits, but try to take an afternoon or a few hours to just do something fun for you. I felt somewhat the same thing you’re feeling after I finished a book in March. I tried jumping right into the next story that had been niggling at my brain but when it came time to put the words buzzing in my brain on paper, I just couldn’t get them from my brain to my fingers to the laptop keys. I took two weeks off and did no writing at all. I read, went to museums, and just let myself be free to do whatever I wanted not writing related. After those two weeks, i came back to the laptop and was able to get back in the groove. Hope this helps.

  8. Wow 4 books in 7 months! So awesome! Congrats. I know the feeling about getting stuck. You’ll be fine though. You are a GREAT writer who tells AWESOME stories. I think you just got a lot going on right now.
    So proud of u!

  9. I like the idea of going along with a rest theory…that’s usually a good rememdy. As a newish writer I’ve not got to your stage of shut down syndrome, but the highs of getting contracts do seem to be ballanced out, at times, by the lows of the in-between bits. Great sales will go along way too, to keep up the spirits! Not happening to me but hopefully it is/will to you!

  10. Jennifer Lowery says:

    Congrats on the contracts, Cera! I’ve been in a rut lately too, but am slowly coming out of it. Working on a short story instead of a novel has helped, given me a small goal to meet instead of a big one. You’re a great writer! You’ll get through this!

  11. Congrats on your contracts, Cera! I’ve been in a bit of a funk myself. I think it’s primarily because my two new releases don’t seem to be selling and none of the online reviewers have posted reviews–good or bad–for either yet. I just turned in edits for my newest contracted book. It’s gone to the copy editor. And I thought I’d start the first draft of the new story I’ve been plotting out over the last couple of months, but can’t seem to get motivated.

Leave a Reply

