Visit with My Friends

Katherine Grey

Today, I welcome Katherine Grey as she talks about writing and her latest release The Muse

When did you start writing, how long and what do you write?

I’ve written for as long as I remember.  English was my favorite subject in school.  I started writing seriously (pursuing publication) in 1998 but due to a major change in my life stopped writing pretty much completely from 2001 until 2010.   I had a rough 2010 and found solace in writing where I could create my own world and be in control of it.   I’ve always written historical romance but am now trying my hand at contemporary romance.

Good that you stuck with it.

What can you tell us about The Muse that isn’t in the blurb or excerpt?  Was it an easy write?  How long did it take you to write it?

The hero in The Muse was a secondary character in my debut novel.  He intrigued me so much I knew I wanted to write his story.   It wasn’t an easy write.  It was only my second attempt at writing a short story. I kept wanting to add subplots and description and more characters which would have put me over the maximum word count required.  It took me about 2 months to write the first draft and about 1 month to write the final draft.  I was recovering from knee surgery while trying to write the final draft and quickly learned pain killers and sentences that make sense don’t go too well together.

I think we all have had those secondary characters that scream to have their own stories written.  I’m writing two series for that very reason…LOL

Are you a pantser or plotter? What can you tell us a little about your writing process?

I write 2 to 3 sentence for each chapter and that’s the extent of my plotting, so I’m a pantser for the most part.   I listen to classical music while I write, mostly anything by YoYo Ma.  I start out by reading over the last couple of pages I wrote the day before and then just start typing.  By reading those few pages, it helps put me back in the scene and makes it easier to pick up where I left off.  I try not to do a lot of self editing at this time because then I start worrying about grammar, adverbs, tags, etc.  If I focus too much on making it perfect, I have a hard time actually getting the words on the page.  I tell myself, “just get it down, you can make it better later.” 

I do this too… well, not listening to classical music, but rereading to get back into the story flow.  But I’m terrible for self-editing as I go. I’m too much of a perfectionist to let stuff go.

If you could be any fictional character—including your own, who would you choose and why?

Wow, this is a hard question.  So many characters popped into my head for so many good reasons but since I write romance I’ll choose Cinderella.  She didn’t have an easy life — she suffered at the hands of her step-mother and step-sisters, but by remaining true to her self, she found her prince, her happiness, and her happily ever after.

Cinderella is a good choice!

What is your favorite TV show or movie?

I don’t watch a lot of television but made sure never to miss Person Of Interest on Thursday nights.  My favorite movie is Conspiracy Theory with Julia Roberts and Mel Gibson (whom I’ve never been a big fan of but this is a great movie.)

Funny, I don’t watch much TV either. I’m finding a lot of writers don’t.

Okay, since I write both vamps and cowboys, I want to know, which is sexier:  Vampires or Cowboys?

Cowboys, hands down.    There’s just something about a cowboy…I’m not even sure I can put it into words.

Oh… I totally agree!

Blurb:

Noted poet Blaine Hobson counts the Prince Regent among his patrons. But ever since the socialite he wished to marry took her life, he has been unable to compose a single line of poetry. With a sonnet commissioned by the Regent due in a few weeks,Blainespends his time alternating between trying to write…and wishing he had the courage to join his beloved in the grave.

Raised in an orphanage with her sister, seamstress Emma Tompkins lives with the guilt of her sibling’s death. Accidently finding a suicide note penned byBlaine, she resolves to keep him alive at all costs. Vigilant, she returns each day, pushing her way into his home–and losing her heart.

Can Blaine forget his beloved and return the affections of the seamstress? Or once finished with his work, will he cast Emma out of his life forever?

 

Excerpt:

Blaine threw down his quill in frustration,  spraying ink across the leather blotter. He wadded up the wasted piece of parchment into a hard ball and threw it toward the fireplace where it landed among the dozens of others lying there.

Jerking out of his chair, he stood at the window overlooking the garden. This late in autumn, there wasn’t much to see in the way of flowers, but the hedges had been pruned, the grass clipped. He sighed and rested his forehead against the glass. When had he ever cared if the lawn and gardens had been tended to? Never. They’d always just been taken care of without his knowledge, much the same way they still were. He’d always been too busy writing his latest sonnet, poem, or ode to beauty, to Collette.

Collette. His muse. He needed to be able to write again, to come up with something more than the trite drivel he did now. Not only did Prinny expect a new sonnet within the next two months, but if he could no longer compose the words that danced in his soul into the artistry of a poem, the commissions would cease, and his only source of income, the means to help his mother, gone. Even more importantly, what would he become?

“How could you leave me?” he asked the empty room. He stared at the lifeless garden a moment longer, releasing a long sigh, and left the window.

Buy Links:

The Wild Rose Press:  http://www.thewildrosepress.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=176_138&products_id=4863

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/The-Muse-Love-Letters-ebook/dp/B0086VMJFE/ref=la_B005PMMHUO_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1338749833&sr=1-2

You can contact Katherine at her blog – http://katherinegrey.blogspot.com or on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Katherine-Grey/265375626827267?sk=wall

Standard

19 thoughts on “Katherine Grey

    • Thanks, D’Ann. I have to agree — Cowboys will would always win hands down. Maybe it’s the chaps, or maybe the tight jeans, or maybe it’s the hat…hmm so hard to decide. 😮

  1. Cait says:

    Congratulations on the book, it sounds and looks excellent. And I LOVE Yo Yo Ma, have you got his new collaboration? fab stuff! Lovely to *meet* you 🙂

    • Hi Cait, I don’t have Yo Yo Ma’s latest CD. I’ll have to go out and get it. I’m a huge fan of cello music and nobody plays like Yo Yo. It’s very nice to “meet” you too. Thank you for the good wishes.

    • Hi Ilona, I hope you didn’t stop writing for as long as I did. I feel like I’ve wasted so much time and wish I’d started writing again sooner. Thank you for the good wishes.

Leave a Reply

