Visit with My Friends

D.R. Grady

Today on Visit with My Friends, I welcome D.R. Grady here to talk about her latest book, The Nerd’s Pocket Pets… Someone I actually know in person…LOL

So, tell us a little about yourself.  When did you start writing, how long and what do you write?

I knew from the moment I learned to put words together to form a story that I would be a writer. I started seriously writing in 1998 after buying my first computer.

I write heartwarming, community based novels. They are books with an ensemble cast.

I understand perfectly… I used to make stories up in my head as a little kid.

Why did you choose to self-publish? What would you do differently?

I self-published because my agent told me to! So far there is nothing I would do differently, although I would love to publish with a traditional publisher. That way there are more people to catch problems I might miss.

I’m thrilled that it’s all working out for you!

What can you tell us about The Nerd’s Pocket Pets that isn’t in the blurb or excerpt?  Was it an easy write?  How long did it take you to write it?

I was diagnosed with an autoimmune illness in 2006 and I wrote this in the summer of 2005 – just as the illness was making itself known. My fears and concerns were channeled straight to Shelby, the heroine of The Nerd’s Pocket Pets. The Nerd’s Pocket Pets took me a month to write and I loved writing it! This story means a lot to me because it got me through a terrible time in my life.

How terrible… At least something good came out of it.Are you a pantser or plotter? What can you tell us a little about your writing process?

I’m a little of both. I know the characters names and physical descriptions. Then I see scenes in the book like movie scenes. Sometimes they appear in order, sometimes not.

I think a lot of writers are…

If you could be any fictional character—including your own, who would you choose and why?

Any of my heroines because I love their men!

LOL!!!

What is your favorite TV show or movie?

I catch The Big Bang Theory on my computer and I loved M*A*S*H reruns during college.

I loved M*A*S*H…

Okay, since I write both vamps and cowboys, I want to know, which is sexier:  Vampires or Cowboys?

Depends entirely on the vampire or cowboy.

Amen, Sister!

Shelby Conroy has always had this thing for Mr. Clean and now she’s met his look-a-like. Sam Welby is an oncology pediatrician, former Navy SEAL, and all around yummy man.  Except she’s supposed to be working for him, not drooling over him. Sam has managed to fight his attraction to Shelby so far, but he’s a little confused as to why her lab coat pockets wriggle.

You can find The Nerd’s Pocket Pets on Amazon or Smashwords.

D.R. Grady on the Web at http://www.drgradybooks.com

Standard

9 thoughts on “D.R. Grady

  1. Amber Courtney says:

    It’s a great book that will drag you into this world of amazing men and even more amazing women. If you are looking for warm and real romance and love, look no further than Ms. Grady’s Morrison series. They will bring you into their inner circle and wish you could be a part of this wonderful family. Another hit Ms. Grady *high five*

Leave a Reply

