Visit with My Friends

Christine Warner

Today I’m ecstatic to have my blog partner from Inkslingers and good friend Christine Warner.  Wow, we’re also publisher-mates, since her debut Some Like it in Handcuffs comes from The Wild Rose Press.

So Christine, tell us a little about yourself.  When did you start writing, how long and what do you write?

I live in Michigan with my husband, 3 kids, 2 dogs and 2 cats.  We live in the country and I love it.  Lots of open spaces, nature and quiet.  I work about 30 hours a week in a medical office.  My favorite color is red and I love to laugh, cook, read, watch movies, travel and of course write.  And over the last year I’ve discovered I have a slight addiction to several social media sites.  Lol

I started seriously writing about 3 years ago at the urging of my sister.  Her and I and two friends we grew up with used to devour contemporary romance novels, mostly Harlequin.  Still love them.   I’ve always had the dream of writing romance, but life got in the way and I kept pushing it off to the side.  So I have my wonderful sister to thank for pushing me to get started.  I write both contemporary romance and light-hearted romantic suspense, which is what Some Like it in Handcuffs is.

We are so similar it’s scary… I work in a medical office, grew up in the country, and also started writing for publication three years ago…LOL  Glad your sister talked you into writing!

What can you tell us about Some Like it in Handcuffs that isn’t in the blurb or excerpt?

Sunny Kennedy and Judson Blackwolf learn they have to overcome their differences and prejudices against each other to solve a cold case, and manage it all while they control their growing attraction.

I can’t wait to read this book, Christine!

Was it an easy write?  How long did it take you to write it?

Some Like it in Handcuffs is my first manuscript and I learned a ton while writing it.  So, I have to admit it took me close to a year to complete.  Every time I learned something new about the craft, I would start at the beginning of my manuscript and apply it.  Then when I was finished, I went over it again and added and deleted chapters and polished it up nice and shiny!  

YES, YES!!!  I’m glad I’m not the only one who does this!

Are you a pantser or plotter? What can you tell us a little about your writing process?

I refer to myself as having one foot in and one foot out.  Part of me plots, but I basically write up a rough outline of the story with timelines and a basic plot chart.  From there I do a  character sketch for each main and secondary character.  From the outline I write my story and that same outline helps me write the synopsis at the end.  While I’m writing I follow the rough outline, but I like that I don’t have to stick to a strict format, I can change my story and my outline easily.  If’ I’m struggling with something within the story, I will outline per chapter to get me over rough spots.

Sounds like a good way to go about it. Although I call myself a plotter-pantser, I never go into this much detail before I write the first draft.

If you could be any fictional character—including your own, who would you choose and why?

I would actually like to be Sunny Kennedy, the heroine in my book.  I like that she says what she feels or thinks and just has the ability to do it without over-thinking everything.  She just goes for it, while living in the moment.

She sounds like my kind of girl! 

What is your favorite TV show or movie?

Now that’s a hard question.  I find that on television I prefer to watch true crime shows or 48 Hours Mystery, Dateline.  But I do have a fondness for Survivor, I’ve been watching since the 1st season and still love that show.

LOL!  I’ve never, ever seen a single episode of Survivor.

Okay, since I write both vamps and cowboys, I want to know, which is sexier:  Vampires or Cowboys?

I have to go with the cowboy…there’s something about a rugged man in faded denims and cowboy boots with a cowboy hat shadowing his face.  Yowza…I’ll stop there!  Lol

That’s what I like about them too!!!

Some Like it in Handcuffs

Sunny Kennedy, the only female in a family of blue blood male detectives, is determined to prove testosterone isn’t the only qualification required to solve a cold case. Handcuffed while undercover then taken to the precinct by an attractive detective, her domineering family demands she work with Detective Judson Blackwolf, or she’s off the case.

Judson Blackwolf thinks women in law enforcement should work behind the scenes. The prospect of working with his Captain’s sexy daughter doesn’t thrill him. He only agrees in hopes of solving the murder of his one time mentor’s daughter. Once the case is over, he’s moving to Montana to heal his wounds from the loss of his last partner.

But when their investigation takes a dangerous turn, Sunny and Jud soon realize their feelings for each other cannot be denied.

Excerpt:

The sharp rap on the front door echoed through her apartment and Sunny jumped. One of the photographs slipped from her hand and fell to the rug which covered the worn wooden floor. Chocolate meowed, jumped from the edge of the yellow leather sofa then took off for the safety of the bedroom.

Sunny hadn’t realized how quiet the room had become. The crime scene photos absorbed all of her attention.

On her way to the door, she looked over the top of her reading glasses to check the clock on the far wall. Relieved, she smiled, and pushed her glasses up the ridge of her nose. There was plenty of time before she needed to get ready for work. Pulling the door open as far as the chain allowed, her eyes widened when she recognized her visitor. Pleasure welled up inside of her at the sight of Judson standing on the doorstep. At the same time, a cold grip of dread climbed her spine. She’d avoided his calls the last couple of days in hopes he’d forget about her. Apparently he was as persistent as she.

“Detective Blackwolf, how can I help you?” She sounded breathless, excited even, and it annoyed her. Just because he sent her pulse into hyper-speed didn’t mean she had to let him know.

“I stopped by to make sure you’re okay.”

“Yes, I’m fine. Thanks. Have a good night.” She started to close the door, but he slapped his palm against the wood.

“I’ve called and left several messages.” He raised one eyebrow a fraction and continued, “How about letting me in for a chat?”

“About what?”

“You can figure it out.” He stared at her through the narrow slit in the door, his expression devoid of humor.

“Hmm, you’re full of intrigue, hang on a sec.” Sunny closed the door to release the chain and paused chewing on her lower lip. If only she had pretended not to be at home. She needed to invest in a peep hole so she could screen her visitors. Taking a deep breath, she released the lock and gestured him inside with a defeated wave of her hand. “Come on in. Let’s talk.”

As he sauntered past her, hands tucked inside the front pockets of his trousers, her gaze drifted to the taut fabric stretched over his behind. Heat flared on her cheeks, and she looked away, but not before her glasses slid down to the tip of her nose.

Some Like it in Handcuffs is available in print and digital format at:

The Wild Rose Press | Barnes and Noble | Amazon

And you can find Christine at:

Blog/Website 

Twitter: ChristinesWords

Facebook Page…stop by and give it a LIKE to keep up on what she has coming up:

Goodreads 

She loves to hear from readers and other authors.

Standard

40 thoughts on “Christine Warner

  1. Pingback: Christine Warner | Romance Writer Sara Walter Ellwood

  2. Jennifer Lowery (Kamptner) says:

    Cowboys for me too! Fabulous interview, ladies! Wishing you millions of sales, Christine! Congrats on the new release!

  3. Would love to live in the country, or at least have the experience to know what it’s like not to have a neighbor on top of you! I mean if I want to swear in my backyard or spit, it would be nice to know no one’s looking or can hear me. LOL
    Nice interview, ladies.
    Neecy

  4. Great interview! More proof we’re sisters. I like the same shows (except Survivor which I burnt out on after around season eight lol). Love, love cowboys for the same reasons! But I also love vamps… I once said I’d write a cowboy vamp. I haven’t yet, but I need to. 🙂

  5. Hey, Christine. Great interview, and I loved, Some Like it in Handcuffs. A great read.

    Congrats on your debut novel. We look forward to reading many more from you.

    And I have to say, I’m kinda partial to Vampires…LOL.

    -Cheryl

  6. I, too, started to write seriously for ME about 3 years ago but that’s about my only similarity with you two ladies. Great interview and best wishes for ‘Some like it in Handcuffs’.

  7. So, you’re a country gal like me. I love the country–wouldn’t trade it for all the chocolate in the world.

    I have never watched an episode of Survivor. Hmm, I’m not sure why.

    I have Some Like It In Handcuffs and I can hardly wait to read it.

    Congratulations on your release!

    • I love the country, can’t imagine living in the city again.

      Thank you for buying the book Brenda…I hope you enjoy it…and as soon as you put it down, tune into Survivor….lol…you might like it!

  8. Christine,
    I like how you describe yourself as having one foot in and foot out when it comes to being a pantser or a plotter. I feel I’m a little of both too. Great blurb and excerpt.

  9. Loved your writing history, so simliar to mine. Isn’t it amazing how much we learn when we undertake writing that first manuscript!? Much succes with Some Like it in Handcuffs. I have on my TBR list.

    • It is amazing all we go through when writing a book…and then to realize as you’re writing that it’s a never ending process of learning.

      Thanks for coming by Isabella…and thanks for adding Some Like it in Handcuffs to your tbr pile!

  10. Finally made it by and so glad I did. Did everyone start writing 3 years ago? That’s my timeline too. And I live sort of in the country, though not nearly far enough out. I’ve been following Some Like It in Handcuffs via SSS snippets for a while and really like what I’m reading, especially Sunny. Her name seems perfect for her. Great interview, ladies!

    • Thanks Sharon!

      We’ve had 2 dogs for about 8 years I think…they are best friends and I like it that they have a friend to wrestle with when we’re outside. If I had my way I’d add another one, but I think my husband wouldn’t be to thrilled. LOL

      • I love that our two are becoming best friends. I wish we had done this years ago. Right now they’re curled up in a big ball together and all I want to do is say, “Awwww”. LOL!

  11. Now you have to get a couple of cats Sharon. We have 1 cat that pretends he’s the only animal in the house but the other cat thinks he’s a dog and hangs out with them and even begs for treats.

    Love my furry friends 🙂

  12. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

