Visit with My Friends

Georgie Lee

Today on Visit With My Friends… I’d like to introduce Georgie Lee…  So, Georgie, tell the good folks a little about yourself.  When did you start writing, how long and what do you write?

I grew up writing many different things including poetry, short stories and screenplays. I’m a lifelong history buff, voracious reader, writer and a movie lover. I especially enjoy classic films because they have such witty dialogue. My professional writing career began at a small cable TV station in San Diego where I wrote marketing videos and public service announcements. I dreamed of being a screenwriter so I moved to Los Angeles and earned my MA in screenwriting. I never conquered Hollywood, but I’d always enjoyed reading romance novels, so one day I started writing one. It was a Regency romance and it went on to become Lady’s Wager, my first published novel. It took me about a year to write Lady’s Wager and the first draft wasn’t exactly perfect. I learned a lot by rewriting that story. Now, I write both contemporary and historical novels from many different time periods. My current release through Carina Press, Mask of the Gladiator is set in ancient Rome. Later this year, Studio Relations, my novel of 1935 Hollywood will be released by Avalon Books.

I used to be a history buff, not so much now—think becoming a history teacher destroyed the romance of it…  Who knows, get a couple best sellers under your belt and you might be able to conquer Hollywood.

What can you tell us about Mask of the Gladiator that isn’t in the blurb or excerpt?  Was it an easy write?  How long did it take you to write it?

It didn’t take me long to write Mask of the Gladiator but it took me a while to rewrite it. I had to do a lot of research on ancient Rome to get the setting and historical facts surrounding Caligula’s assassination, which is central to the plot, correct. Then, when I first submitted the manuscript, I received a revise and resend letter. I agreed with my editor’s suggestions but it took a while to process it all and rework the story. The suggestions made the story more powerful and I love the finished version.

Oh, I can imagine the research!  I write contemporary Westerns and paranormals and I do a TON of research for those. Gotta love those revise/resubmit letters…(and I don’t mean that in a bad way… I love ‘em!)

Are you a pantser or plotter? What can you tell us a little about your writing process?

I’m a pantser who wishes she could plot. If I could plot, it would make my life easier and my writing faster. I don’t have a lot of time each day to write so when I get stuck it can become frustrating to sit at the computer and try to “pants” my way out of a corner.  However, I tend to have more than one story going at the same time. When I hit a wall with one story, I switch to another and give my subconscious a chance to work through a plot problem. 

I understand completely… I’m a pantser, too, but I do a little plotting in my head. I hate, HATE those darned corners…

If you could be any fictional character—including your own, who would you choose and why?

Princess Leia. She’s royalty, she has the Force, she looks good in a bikini and has Han Solo. Who wouldn’t want to be her?

OH!!!!  I’m so with you on this one!!  I spent years writing Star Wars fan fiction—HUGE FAN of the movies and the books…

What is your favorite TV show or movie?

Gone with the Wind is my favorite movie. I love Scarlett’s “tomorrow is another day” spirit and her ability to keep going despite so many tragedies. I also love the chemistry between Clark Gable and Vivien Leigh. I can watch that movie a million times and never get sick of it.

Yeah, Gone With the Wind is probably my favorite, too…Besides the Star Wars saga…LOL

Okay, since I write both, I only have one last question:  Vampires or Cowboys?

Cowboys. Rugged individualism, tight jeans, cowboy hats, riding off into the sunset with the woman he loves. What’s not to love?

It’s been great having you here, Georgie….Good luck with your upcoming releases.  Now for a little about Georgie and her book Mask of the Gladiator.

A dedicated history and film buff, Georgie Lee loves combining her passion for Hollywood, history and storytelling through romantic fiction. When not writing, she enjoys reading non-fiction history and watching any movie with a costume and an accent. Please visit  www.georgie-lee.com, follow her on Twitter @GeorgieLeeBooks or visit her Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Georgie-Lee/259729314054846 to learn more about Georgie and her books.

Rome, 41 AD

Livia Duronius is driven to seek out a gladiator after watching him triumph in the Colosseum. His touch arouses a sense of hope she hasn’t felt since Rome fell under the tyrannical rule of Caligula—and her late husband betrayed her. Though in danger of losing more than her heart, she vows to see him again, even after she learns her uncle has arranged her marriage to a senator.

Senator Titus Marius cannot resist indulging in a passionate encounter with the veiled woman who waits for him after the games, though he faces execution if his true identity is discovered. Bound by honor to wed another, and embroiled in a plot to free Rome from madness, he never expects to see the mystery woman again.

When the fates reunite them in the marriage bed, Titus vows to protect Livia at all costs—even from the lecherous eyes of the emperor…

Standard

14 thoughts on “Georgie Lee

  1. Terrific interview!

    You’re cover is gorgeous…very eye-catching and I enjoyed the blurb. I love the mystery of your story and then how your hero and heroine end up in the marriage bed together. Sounds like a great read.

  2. Good interview! And Mask of the Gladiator sounds like a great romance. I haven’t read too many that take place during the Roman era, but this sounds like an awesome read. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Georgie, I’d have picked Cowboys too (big surprise). Actually, you surprised me by choosing Princess Leia. I would’ve thought you’d wanted to be Elizabeth Bennett so you could fall in love with Mr. Darcy 🙂

    Great interview!

    Melissa Cutler

    • I almost chose Eliza Bennett because I can’t resist Mr. Darcy (or his manners, money and mansion) but it was the Force that won me over. I like the idea of having things come to me for once instead of having to get up and get them 🙂

  4. Thank you, everyone, for stopping by and checking out Georgie’s novella….I’ve already put it in my TBR pile.

    Thank you, Georgie, for a wonderful interview! Hope you have many, many sales!!!!

Leave a Reply

